Immigrate To Canada as a Skilled Worker



Immigrate To Canada as a Skilled Worker

There are several immigration streams to move to Canada as a foreign skilled worker, but the main pathway for a skilled worker is the Express Entry.

Canada Immigration

Canada became the first country in the world to allow the migration of foreigners through a merit-based points system (Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) in 1967.

Canada’s selection of skilled workers for permanent residence is dependent on; if the foreigner is an economic immigrant. This implies that the foreigner must be able to integrate into the labor market.

The migration of skilled workers is the backbone of Canada’s immigration system.

Today, Canada intends to welcome more than 400,000 economic immigrants every year, of whom, the arrival of skilled workers has crossed the 60% mark.

The selection of skilled workers is split between the provincial and federal governments. The Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) welcome about half of the applicants, while the other half goes through the Canadian provinces and territories.

The Express Entry system is the main way the federal government identifies and selects skilled applicants. To gain eligibility into the Express Entry, applicants must satisfy the eligibility requirements for one of its 3 programs.

The federal government has several other skilled immigration pathways in addition to the Express Entry. These projects exist to help meet the country’s labor need.

The Provincial Nominee Program is the second way to immigrate to Canada as a foreign skilled worker.

Quebec’s migration program is the third way to immigrate to Canada as a skilled worker.

READ This:  How to get a Job in Canada

Express Entry

Under the Express Entry, the government of Canada’s aim is to welcome an average of 110 new economic immigrants every year. One of the major advantages of immigrating to Canada through Express Entry is the easy way of gaining permanent residence status within six months.

Eligibility for Express Entry depends on the applicants satisfying the eligibility criteria of the following three programs :

Federal Skilled Worker Program: The FSWP is the most well-known choice for foreign skilled workers who have not lived in Canada before.

Canadian Experience Class: The CEC is a great choice for foreigners who have lived in Canada to work or study.

Government Skilled Trades Program: This pathway (FSTP) is an immigration option for foreigners who have a background in skilled trades.

Other Federal Skilled Worker Options

Under its Immigration Levels Plan, the Canadian government expects to welcome more than 15,000 new economic immigrants every year under the programs:

Atlantic Immigration Pilot: The aim of the AIP is to promote the development of economic activities in the Atlantic regions of Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and New Brunswick.

Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot (RNIP): This pilot scheme (RNIP) is aimed to promote the economic activities in the rural and northern Canadian

Agri-Food Immigration Pilot: This immigration pilot scheme supports the labor shortage of the country’s agri-food sector.

Live-in Caregiver Program (LCP): Along with the two immigration pilots listed below is aimed at foreign caregivers to support the Canadian families and the health care sector.

Home Child Care Provider Pilot

READ This:  Requirements for Getting a Canada Visa

Home Support Worker Pilot

Provincial Skilled Worker Options

The second major immigration pathway for foreign skilled workers after the Express Entry is the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP).

The PNP became official in 1998 and has demonstrated to be effective in attracting economic immigrants to several Canadian communities. Under the PNP, Canada welcomes more than 80,000 new economic immigrants yearly.

The PNP is adopted by the following; Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, the Yukon, and the Northwest Territories. Every one of these regions has its own unique criteria for eligibility and selection of candidates. It is the role of the federal government’s permanent residence processing of successful PNP.

The third immigration pathway to Canada as a skilled worker is the Quebec skilled worker migration system. The province has its own unique eligibility criteria and the process is similar to the federal government.

Quebec has played an active role in ensuring the recruitment and selection of economic immigrants since the 1960s. Quebec choses successful candidates, and permanent residence application will be processed by the federal government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *